header image


The Alumni Association was organized and established in 1973.  It now represents more than 2,100 graduates of the 4-year and graduate programs and more than 500 graduates of the residency programs.  In addition, alumni of the Columbia University optometric program have joined SUNY’s Association.

Each year, the Alumni Association sponsors educational and social meetings, Envision's yearly reunion social event, publishes a newsletter, Focal Point, and awards scholarships to students in financial need who display professional and academic promise. Financial support is also given to student-run organizations. During the Association's Annual Fund Campaign, alumni are solicited for contributions to the Association in order to continue existing programs and initiate new ones.

The Executive Board of the Association is an active group which meets quarterly during the academic year.  The Alumni Association is also an active member of SUNY’s Confederation of Alumni Associations.

President: Dr. Denise Whittam ‘91

Vice President: Dr. Samar Awad ‘92

Immediate Past President: Dr. Julia Appel ‘91

Treasurer: Dr. Shandor Zelenger ‘98

Secretary: Dr. Vito Proscia ‘91

Dr. Anna Marie Fernandez ‘85
Dr. Jaclyn Benzoni ‘09
Dr. Diane Russo ‘10
Dr. Karen Perekalsky ‘06
Dr. Theresa Rostkowski ‘90

Class Representatives

Class of 2002
Jeremy Goldman

Class of 1991
Dr. Lawrence D. Miller

Class of 2010
Dr. Diane Russo

Class of 1990
Dr. Theresa Rostkowski

Class of 2009
Dr. Jacklyn Benzoni

Class of 1989
Dr. Renee L. Lee-Valenti

Class of 2006
Dr. Karen M. Perekalsky

Class of 1985
Dr. Anna Marie Fernandez

Class of 2000
Dr. Peter Bae

Class of 1984
Dr. Keith M. Dworkin

Class of 1993
Dr. Michelle C. Blas

Class of 1980
Dr. Mark A. Gendal

The Alumni Office:
Francisco Lomparte
Associate Director of Alumni Affairs
SUNY College of Optometry
33 West 42nd St, 18th floor
New York, NY 10036
Phone: (212) 938-5604
Fax: (212) 938-5653
Email: flomparte@sunyopt.edu