header image
August 6, 2007

ASCO Award Presented to Dr. David Heath

Dr. Heath is one of two 2007 recipients of the Dr. Jack Bennett Innovation in Optometric Education Award given last month. The other recipient is Dr. Janice Scharre, professor of pediatrics at the Illinois College of Optometry.

Dr Heath was a co-chair of ASCO’s first Faculty Development Institute held in July 2006 which brought together newer faculty from all the schools and colleges of optometry for four days of training in teaching and learning; scholarship; and academic culture/leadership. He also served as co-chair of this year’s Institute last month.

The award was presented by ASCO president, Dr. John F. Amos during ASCO’s annual  luncheon in Boston. The award is named for Dr. Bennett, who served successively as dean of three optometry schools before his premature death in 2000.