header image
June 23, 2014

College Honors Residents with Farewell Ceremony

Dr. Diane Adamczyk (left) with Dr. Kelly Thomann

The SUNY College of Optometry’s 2013-14 residency class bid farewell to the College at a ceremony on June 20. A total of 37 residents in 15 different programs received certificates of advanced clinical competency at the event.

Dr. Diane Adamczyk, SUNY Optometry’s director of residency education, told the outgoing residents during the ceremony that they can expect to use what they’ve learned during their intensive year in the program throughout their careers. Dr. Adamczyk also noted the growth of the program--the 2013-14 residency class was the largest in the College’s four-decade history of residency programs.

During the hour-long ceremony SUNY Optometry president, Dr. David A. Heath, said that the College aspires for its residents “to go on and do great things.” Meanwhile, former Alumni Association president, Dr. Julia Appel, welcomed them into the SUNY family of alumni.

This year's Distinguished SUNY Residency Alumni Award, a tradition that was recently developed at the College, was awarded to Dr. Kelly Thomann, a 1989 graduate of the College who completed her residency in 1990. During her address to the gathering Dr. Thomann spoke about the similarities and differences in between when she did her residency twenty-four years ago and today. She also stressed the importance of the relationships that she built both as a result of her residency as well as from being involved in residency education over the years.

The Dr. Martin H. Birnbaum Memorial Award, which is sponsored by the Optometric Center of New York and given to a resident who has shown outstanding knowledge and skill in behavioral optometry, was awarded to Dr. Vincent Cano.


Click on the image below to view and download pictures from the ceremony and the reception that followed