header image
May 29, 2007

SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence Announced

Albany -- State University of New York Chancellor John R. Ryan today announced the recipients of the 2007 Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Faculty Service, Librarianship, Professional Service, Scholarship and Creative Activities, and Teaching. Chancellor Ryan honored 236 SUNY faculty with this year’s awards.
At the SUNY College of Optometry, Barry Lee, Ph.D., received the Chancellor's Award for Scholarship and Creative Activity; Mitchell Dul. O.D., M.S., received the Chancellor's Award for Teaching; Mr. Bret Boudi was given the Chancellor's Award for Professional Service and Ms. Beth G. Harper received the Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence. These awards will be presented at the College's annual Scholars' Dinner in June.

“These awards acknowledge and honor SUNY faculty members who are truly the best of the best,” said Ryan. “The Awards for Excellence are particularly rewarding for those chosen because they have been nominated by their colleagues on campus and viewed as role models among their peers. It is my pleasure to join the SUNY campuses in honoring these individuals and thanking them for their hard work and dedication throughout the year.”
The Chancellor's Awards for Excellence are System-level honors conferred to provide system-wide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and to encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence.  These programs underscore SUNY’s commitment to sustaining intellectual vibrancy, advancing the boundaries of knowledge, providing the highest quality of instruction, and serving the public good.  Through these awards, SUNY publicly proclaims its pride in the accomplishment and personal dedication of its instructional faculty, librarians and professional staff across its campuses.