Hybrid Eye-CARE Summer Camp RSVP

When:

Location:

The format will be hybrid, allowing participants to select either in person or virtual (although participants are strongly encouraged to pick one format for the entirety of the camp)

Over the course of a three-day summer program, Eye-CARE camp aims to prepare prospective applicants for the rigors of the optometry school application process and health professions programs more broadly. Eye-CARE will simultaneously expose participants to the dynamic future of the profession.

Camp activities include:

  • Leadership, professional development, and clinical background workshops
  • Team-building and community-building exercises
  • Presentations by renowned optometrists
  • Networking opportunities with current SUNY Optometry students
  • An inside look into the pandemic’s impact on eye care
  • Exposure to new technologies, niches, and communities in optometry
  • Application process preparation and counseling

Please visit the Eye-CARE Summer Camp program website to learn more at sunyopt.edu/eyecaresummercamp

Dates and Times: Monday, June 27 – Wednesday, June 29, 2022

  • Monday, June 27th, 2022  from 2:00 PM – 6:15 PM EST / 11:00 AM – 3:15 PM PST
    • Day 1 – The Dynamic Future of Optometry: Understanding the Future of Vision Care and Your Potential Role In It
  • Tuesday,  June 28th, 2022 from 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM EST / 7:00 AM – 1:00 PM PST
    • Day 2 – The Long Haul: Building Personal Capital for Serving Patients and Leading Others
  • Wednesday,  June 29th, 2022 from 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM EST / 7:00 AM – 2:00 PM PST
    • Day 3 – The Training Program: Crafting a Competitive Application for Graduate and Professional Schools
  • Wednesday, July 6th, 2022 from 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM EST / 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM PST
    • Eye-CARE Camp Think Tank Presentations

Access: Details will be sent to registrants closer to the date.
Camp Participant Eligibility: All are welcome.

Important to Note:

Travel Stipend Consideration: Participants who have demonstrated academic promise and who will benefit from a travel stipend may express interest for consideration toward a $400 travel stipend for summer camp travel to the state of New York in late June 2022. Although travel stipends are limited and highly competitive, we encourage all eligible individuals to express consideration. If you are not awarded a travel stipend, then you are still eligible to attend the summer camp either in person or virtually.

Registrants Applying for Kaplan Test-Prep Sponsorship: If you are eligible for both general camp participation and test-prep fee waiver sponsorship, then you must complete a total of two forms: a) submit a camp registration form below and b) submit a completed fee waiver application here by Friday, May 13th at 11:59pm (Eastern Time).