President Heath Elected to Lead Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry

June 29, 2015

Dr. David Heath 2President David A. Heath has been elected to lead the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO), the organization that represents the 21 schools and colleges of optometry in the United States and Puerto Rico. His term begins on July 1.
Dr. Heath has been involved in optometric education for more than 30 years and has been a member of ASCO’s Board of Directors since 2007. He is also active with the American Optometric Association and the New York State Optometric Association.

“The coming year at ASCO will be one of transition and opportunity as our new executive director, Ms. Dawn Mancuso, begins her tenure and as we initiate a comprehensive strategic planning process,” President Heath said in a statement. “This is an important time as we enter ASCO’s 75th year as an association. As a community, we will embrace this transition as an opportunity to increase the impact of ASCO and to advance optometric education.”

Dr. Heath previously served as president of ASCO during the 2012-2013 academic year.

ASCO’s Board of Directors also elected its Executive Committee during the organizations recent annual meeting. Those elected include: president-elect, Dr. Karla Zadnik, dean and professor at The Ohio State University, College of Optometry; secretary-treasurer, Dr. Elizabeth Hoppe , founding dean at the Western University of Health Sciences, College of Optometry; at-large member, Dr. David A. Damari, dean of the Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State University an an alumnus of the College; as well as immediate past-president Dr. Jennifer Coyle, dean of Pacific University, College of Optometry.