• Slider Image

University Police Department (UPD)

Emergency: (212) 938-5555

General Information: (212) 938-5556

The mission of the University Police Department at SUNY College of Optometry is to provide a safe working environment to the College community that is conducive to educational pursuit.

The University Police Department consists of the Chief and Assistant Chief of Police as administrators, sworn law enforcement officers (2 lieutenants and 3 police officers) and 9 Security Services Assistants (security guards).

University Police Officers have full law enforcement powers on campus. Officers have the authority to enforce all applicable laws and regulations and may arrest violators within their jurisdiction. The jurisdiction of our police officers is the college campus, including the sidewalks and the portion of the public highways that abuts the perimeter of the building.


Frank Orehek
Director of Management Services/Chief of Police
Email: forehek@sunyopt.edu

Dapo Adurogbola
Assistant Chief of Police
Email: dadurog@sunyopt.edu

Uniformed Supervisors

Gaby Jalaf 
Lieutenant (Day Shift)

David Mobley
Lieutenant (Evening Shift)

Police Officers 

Michael Gaddist
Akeema Wilson
Johnny Guillaume
Frank Mendyk

Security Services Assistants (Day Shift)

Daryl Johnson
Richard Fowler
Lorraine Speights
Concepcion Lopez
Richard Severe

Security Services Assistants (Evening Shift)

Renee Grace-Williams
Howard Trice
Onohoomen Ukinamemen
Hudson Vincent
Atique Z. Khan

Building Hours

Mondays – Fridays: 7am -10pm
Saturdays: 7am -8:30pm
Sundays: 10am-10pm

The building is closed during all New York State observed holidays.